El Retorno Del Hombre-Lobo – Paul Naschy – 1981

Werewolf poster

Alright, so my goal here was mainly to show off the quality of Blu-Ray, however, my computer doesn’t play them so I had to use the camera to take photos of the TV and I think any quality that was gained from Blu-Ray was lost with the photography method. Anyway, in the beginning I was a little skeptical of Blu-Ray but it was kind of inevitable that I would get a player since I was planning on getting a PS3 and it plays them as well as regular DVD’s. I started looking around for good stuff and found this twofer from BCI Entertainment which includes “The Night Of The Werewolf” and “Vengeance Of The Zombies” both by and starring yours and my favorite Spanish wolfman, Jacinto Molina aka Paul Naschy. I was converted right away. I never dreamt that these low budget masterpieces would ever look better than when I saw them on late night TV but here they are, all shiny and new. Not only does Blu-Ray just look better but some of the scenes jump out as though they were filmed in 3D and it really adds a different dimension to the film. Effects that seemed hokey before, now appear much more professional. Now I know that the grainy quality of these films is one of the things that attracts much of the fan base that these films have and I agree that not every film is going to benefit from this treatment, but I think that an exceptional job was done here. I’ll try and get some shots of “Vengeance Of The Zombies” soon as it looks remarkably good as well.

12345678910

One Response to “El Retorno Del Hombre-Lobo – Paul Naschy – 1981”

  1. RIP – Paul Naschy, 75, who drank blood, howled at the moon, swathed himself in bandages, and didn’t let a hunched back deter his dreams. But the “Boris Karloff of Spain” was no match for an even more horrific monster: pancreatic cancer. http://urdead2me.wordpress.com/2009/12/01/rip-paul-naschy/

Leave a Reply

